Western States Cancer Research

Western States Cancer Research NCORP (WSCR-NCORP) (formerly Colorado Cancer Research Program) is a nonprofit, National Cancer Institute (NCI) affiliated Cancer Clinical Trial Research Organization, whose primary aim is to make cancer clinical trials available to patients, physicians, and communities in our region.

Berris Award

The Robert F. Berris, MD Award


Outstanding Commitment to Community Cancer Research

Western States Cancer Research NCORP (formerly Colorado Cancer Research Program-CCRP) is proud to present this award in honor of our founder, Robert F. Berris, MD. In 1970, Dr. Berris penned a letter to the Director of the National Cancer Institute (NCI) stating that the current system of cancer research funding was not reaching down to the community level where the majority of patients were being treated. In 1983, the National Cancer Institute followed Dr. Berris’ advice and formed the Community Clinical Oncology Program (CCOP). Under Dr. Berris’ leadership, CCRP was one of the original 20 CCOP sites established and continues today as Western States Cancer Research NCORP bringing state-of-the-art prevention, treatment, and symptom control clinical trials not only to Colorado but also to Alaska and Washington state. Dr. Berris retired from his private practice in 2005 and continued to support our work until his death in 2011. Dr. Robert Berris embodied all the attributes of this award.

Commitment of time and resources
A true Warrior Against Cancer

Berris Award Winners


Nicholas DiBella, MD
Nancy Morton


Joel Ohlsen, MD


Catherine Azar, MD
Eduardo Pujon, MD


Lee Jennings, MD
Karen Holtman, RN


Deb Hood
Arlene Bobrow


Norm Aarestad, MD
US Rep. Diana DeGette


Sami Diab, MD
Keren Sturtz, MD


Andrew J. Nemechek, MD, FACS
Ann Murphy, PhD
Chris Jones, MD
Norm Benedict


David Trevarthen, MD
Gerald Hayes


Debbie Markham


Jeffrey V. Matous, MD
Patrick Richard, MD, MPH


Dr. Ryan Weight
The Bill Dea Family

Scroll to top